About Us

EcoCAR2: Plugging In to the Future is a three-year collegiate engineering competition and the
only program of its kind.

The competition’s mission is a vital one: offer an unparalleled, hands-on, real-world experience
to educate the next generation of automotive engineers. The competition challenges 15
universities across North America to reduce the environmental impact of a Chevrolet Malibu
without compromising performance, safety and consumer acceptability.

Established by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) and General Motors (GM), EcoCAR2
builds upon a successful 23-year history of DOE Advanced Vehicle Technology Competitions
(AVTC). These rigorous events exemplify the power of public/private partnerships in providing
invaluable experience and training to promising, young minds entering the North American
job market. EcoCAR2 follows the widely acclaimed competition series EcoCAR: The NeXt

Shaped by the greatest design changes in the history of the automotive industry, EcoCAR2
requires students to explore a variety of powertrain architectures which focus on electric drive
vehicle technology. EcoCAR2 teams will utilize a 2013 Chevrolet Malibu, donated by General
Motors, as the integration platform for their advanced vehicle design.

During the three-year program, EcoCAR2 teams will follow GM’s Vehicle Development Process
(VDP). Just as it does in the “real world,” the VDP will serve as a roadmap for the engineering
process of designing, building and refining their advanced technology vehicles. Following a
VDP will give the teams an opportunity to improve their vehicles efficiency while retaining
consumer acceptability, performance and safety.

Year One: Design and Simulation
Year Two: Implementation
Year Three: Refinement

About MSU’s EcoCAR2 Team

The Mississippi State University (MSU) EcoCAR2 team is comprised of 84 members spanning
across 16 majors. The team is led by a mechanical engineering graduate student, serving as team
leader, and five graduate group leaders, all of whom have significant experience in AVTCs. The
Outreach/Business team is made up of five students, two of which are business graduate students
who provide leadership for the group. The MSU team is making great strides to meet their goals
and objectives for year one.

Overall Team Goals:

  • Enhance the educational program in vehicular technology at MSU
  • Populate the automotive industry with MSU graduates
  • Contribute to the development of relevant technologies
  • Educate the public in the region regarding the benefit of electrified vehicles
  • Build upon previous successes in past automotive competitions to produce a winning vehicle

MSU’s AVTC History

MSU first became involved in the AVTC series with the four-year Challenge X competition in
2004. The team is currently competing in its eighth year of AVTCs. In addition to Challenge

X, Mississippi State also competed in EcoCAR: The NeXt Challenge. The MSU teams have
achieved tremendous success in each of these events, including the following honors:


2012 First Place Overall
2010 First Place Overall
2008 First Place Overall
2007 First Place Overall
2011 Fastest Acceleration Time
2011 Fastest Autocross Time
2011 Best Static Consumer Acceptability Presentation
2011 Best Technical Presentation
2011 Best Towing High-speed Passby
2011 Best Sportsmanship Award
2011 Best Influencer Campaign
2011 Best Creative Promotion of EcoCAR
2011 Best A123 Battery Pack
2011 Outreach Third Place
2011 NSF Outstanding Faculty Advisor
2010 Best Acceleration
2010 Best Autocross
2010 Best Well-to-Wheel Petroleum Energy Use
2010 Best Well-to-Wheel Greenhouse Gas
2010 Best Vehicle Design Review Presentation
2010 Best Team Website
2010 Best Tailpipe Emissions
2010 Best Media Relations Program
2010 Best Mechanical Presentation
2010 Best Fuel Consumption
2010 Best Education Program
2010 Best Creative Promotion of EcoCAR
2010 Best Controls Presentation
2010 Best A123 Systems Battery Pack
2011 Mathworks Award Third Place
2010 Mathworks Modeling Presentation Third Place
2010 Hardware-in-the-loop Evaluation Third Place
2010 First Place Outreach Program
2010 dSpace Sponsor Award Second Place
2009 Best Mechanical Presentation
2009 Best Creative Promotion of EcoCAR
2009 Outreach Second Place
2009 Written Reports Third Place
2008 Best Acceleration
2008 Best Well-to-Wheel Greenhouse Gas
2008 Best Static Consumer Acceptability
2008 Best On-road Energy Use
2008 Best Marketing Plan
2008 Best 1/4 Mile Time
2008 Best Rookie Women in Engineering Award
2008 Written Reports Second Place
2008 Tailpipe Emissions Second Place
2008 Outreach Second Place
2008 Handling Third Place
2007 Best Acceleration
2007 Best King of the Hill
2007 Best Static Consumer Acceptability
2007 Best Realization of xVDP
2007 Best PR/Media Outreach
2007 Best Outreach
2007 Best On-road Energy Use
2007 Best Engineering and Fabrication Workmanship
2007 Best AVL Drive Quality
2007 NSF Outstanding Faculty Advisor
2007 VTC Presentation Second Place
2007 Tailpipe Emissions Third Place
2007 Autocross Second Place
2007 Controls Presentation Second Place
2006 Best Acceleration
2006 Best PR/Media Outreach
2006 Best Well-to-Wheel Greenhouse gas
2006 Best Towing
2006 Best Realization of VTS Targets
2006 Best On-road Energy Use
2006 Best AVL Drive Quality
2006 Outreach Second Place
2006 Well-to-Wheel Petroleum Energy Use Second Place
2006 Tailpipe Emissions Second Place
2006 Autocross Second Place



6 Responses to About Us

  1. Really admiring the time and effort you put into your blog and the detailed information you offer!

  2. I think everyone does a fine job here and just wanted to make that known.

  3. I like your site thanks!

  4. Thanks so much for the blog post. Thanks Again.

  5. Wow! Your team has surely racked up on the awards for these competitions haven’t you?
    Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon.

    Best of luck to you all and Go Dawgs!

    • Thanks so much! And check back on the blog feed for our recent achievements in Year One of EcoCAR 2!
      We’re very glad to be representing the Bulldog Nation in EcoCAR 2!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *