Go to top of the page

Mississippi State University’s

Center for Advanced Vehicular Systems (CAVS)

is a world-class technology development center comprised of engineering, research, development and technology transfer teams. Founded in 2002, CAVS is committed to exploring solutions to complex problems, in areas such as autonomous vehicles, materials science, high-performance computing, advanced controls, and human-machine interaction.

Message from the Director

Welcome to the Center for Advanced Vehicular Systems, one of the premier university automotive research centers in the world. I am proud to lead a group of over 300 staff and researchers in addressing some of today’s most pressing challenges. Together with our government and industry partners, we are developing solutions to enhance transportation safety, improve vehicle efficiency, increase the productivity of our workforce, and enable a brighter future.

CAVS is a strong partner at the state, national, and international level; with academic partnerships in place across multiple continents, we form collaborations which help us work smarter, faster, and more efficiently. Through the Institute for Systems Engineering Research (ISER), co-located with the US Army’s Engineering Research and Development Center in Vicksburg, MS, CAVS serves our national interests with expertise in systems engineering and big data management. CAVS Extension arm has a 15-year history of enhancing our state’s manufacturing operations and aiding economic development, and the Institute for Imaging and Analytical Technologies (I2AT) provides cutting-edge services to industry across the region.

We welcome you to tour our website, learning more about the exciting things that we are doing at CAVS and at Mississippi State University.

Go Dawgs!
Clay Walden, Executive Director
Center for Advanced Vehicular Systems

Strategy Team

Clay Walden Executive Director
Matthew Doude Associate Director, Corporate Engagement
Daniel Carruth Associate Director, Human Factors and Advanced Vehicle Systems (int.)
Hongjoo Rhee Associate Director, Engineering Mechanics and Materials Science
Shanti Bhushan Associate Director, Computational Fluid Dynamics
Raj Prabhu Associate Director, Computational Engineering Mechanics
Mark Horstemeyer Chief Technical Officer
David Marcum Chief Scientist